This is Not a Publishing Rant

I swear. Kind of. Say the industry collapses on itself (because we are a self mutilating sort, aren’t we?) –

This is about other jobs we could do, if we hadn’t decided to work in a thankless job for no money creating things that people don’t care about anymore.

Maybe work hand to mouth across Europe, like I heard some kids did once. Get rid of that pesky thing called the written word, what else is there? One friend aptly put it as we’re “Screwed Either Way.” (Her caps, not mine). Either we work with what we love, or we don’t and probably end up hollow on the inside and all alone in our misery.

Happy Face!

See, it’s not so bad.

Ok. I took a break and came back and in that time, B&N revealed the Nook. And I want. O, Lord, how do I want. I want like the flowers want rain and we need air. O, to hold the nook betwixt my fingers… I’d die a happy girl.

Please go salivate over it now: Nook.

I am in a significantly better place. Here is why the Nook is awesome (for now, maybe things will come to light, who knows):

It’s called the Nook, like for books – instead of the Kindle which makes me think of Kindling, which makes me think AMAZON WANTS TO BURN BOOKS RAAR.
It is OPEN FORMAT: pdf friendly
It is not owned by Jeff Bezos
It has LendMe technology – WHICH MEANS YOU GUYS CAN BORROW A BOOK FROM ME FOR TWO WEEKS. THAT IS AMAZING.
It has free wifi in all B&N stores

And those are just highlights. Seriously. I want one of these for christmas. Hopefully this is going to revolutionize the e-reader industry because it’s making it more reader friendly. They are really, really marketing it towards readers. I would be curious to see what the New Yorker would have to say about this kid. The biggest deal is, I think, that it is open format. You can upload previously owned pdfs, B&N (while still a conglomerate) is not going to punish you for (O, GOD, WHY) owning books in an e-format already.

I still wholeheartedly believe that publishing’s future lies with independents, local book stores, small presses, and print on demand – this is a step in the right direction. Don’t try to make the device an anchor, that’s your problem Jeffie.

GIF HAPPY TIMEZ:

And then, all was well. Ish.

Cappie and Casey cannot be together.

4 Comments

Filed under Fun Times, Life, Things I Find Interesting

4 responses to “This is Not a Publishing Rant

  1. hhhheeeeeraru

    omg. omg. Nook. Nook. nooknooknook. That looks fucking delicious.

  2. rahawa

    I hate to rain on your parade, but the Nook’s lending abilities appear severely stunted. Gizmodo posted a decent article about it yesterday.

    The Glooms:

    1) Whether or not a book is even available for lending depends on the publisher. You know, those laid back folk who understand the importance of making their content shareable? Yeah, those guys.

    2) Apparently you can only lend a book once. Ever. Share with one friend and then THE SHARE TIME IS TEH OVER. So choose your friend wisely. Maybe they’re assuming you only know one other person who enjoys reading and owns a Nook? I understand it’s an attempt to limit one’s sharing of digital works with everyone on the planet (as with MP3s), but lending only once?

    And no browser? What’s the point of advertising “free wi-fi in B&N” if the only thing you can access is the B&N page for purchases?Pair this with the fact that B&N’s “book” prices are generally higher than Amazon’s, and there’s no way I’m buying this product. Neither should you. Am bummed because the Nook actually looked promising (at least for an e-reader).

    You should go yell at them, publishing person.

    • Yeah I heard about the issues the other night. I agree w/ the first two points – I do however, have to disagree on the 3rd point as a downer. I like that it doesn’t have a browser because it’s kind of like B&N is recognizing the Nook for what it is supposed to be – a book replacement. I don’t need the distraction when I’m reading of checking my email every thirty seconds like I do with my phone, y’know? I diggit.

      They should get rid of the one-time-lend rule, because that’s ridiculous, maybe you can only lend it like, once every two months or something just so you aren’t taking advantage of the expediency of it. You know the only reason they’re doing the one-time-only is because of the pansy ass publishers any way.

      Publishers are wary of it, of course… mostly because they’re terrified of anything new and different. Although this isn’t new and different, this is just a good way of shifting a practice that already exists to a digital realm. INTEGRATION BEBE.

      • rahawa

        Oh, I agree; the Nook doesn’t need a browser. I just wish they’d stop advertising the whole “free wi-fi” perk so ostentatiously, because it’s terribly misleading.

        And convincing a wounded industry that something isn’t new and different but “just a good way of shifting a practice that already exists to a digital realm” is like [insert amusingly absurd simile]. Know what I mean? Am hoping publishers have learned a little something from the music industry about how not to transition into a digitized format.

        Speaking of which, did you get a chance to see John McCain’s anti-Net Neutrality “Internet Freedom Act?” A regular laugh factory, believe you me.

Leave a Reply

