Imaginary Boyfriends

It’s funny how we all have these first and second and third (^n) loves. This is a post to glorify them. These beaus, these perfect men. Perfect men we’ll never know or really have. Because well, they don’t exist.

I’ve been discussing this with some friends, and it’s hilarious that the minute I ask “who were your imaginary boyfriends?” nobody was confused. It was generally followed by a half hour of OMG I looooooooved him when I was 12!! etc, etc. I don’t mean actors or musicians or whomever. Because, shoot. This is about the movie you saw when you were 13 and you knew you were going to love that boy forever. (debbiedowner) This is also the reason most of us will never truly be satisfied because what we’ve been tailored to want just isn’t in this world. (/debbiedowner) The list just kept growing with every conversation I had. I’m going keep it to a few key characters that were mentioned by more than a few people, but the rest will get an honorable mention below. Because g’damn. I would not take the dreaminess away from you.

Who’s excited for this list?!

I didn’t have a plan for the organization of this list, but I think I’m going to go with chronologically. That being said, let’s begin.

Casper
Casper

Ask any girl who got to see Casper when she was anywhere from 10 – 13. When Devon Sawa walked down those stairs to dance with Christina Ricci, aye dios. We were all so fucking jealz. Of course, then we saw Now & Then and were like okay, they need to be Together 4-Ever.

Laurie
Little Women

Not gonna lie, I didn’t even make it through this scene. Because we all know that a) Jo is a complete douchy moron for saying no to Teddy and b) it was absolutely mortifyingly unfair that bratty little sister Amy ends up with the Marchs’ boy-next-door. We all loved him in the book, and it didn’t hurt that Christian Bale brought him to life in the movie. Ugh, Amy. She gets my knickers in a twist, that’s for effing sure.

Other childhood book / movie favorites: Dicken (The Secret Garden), Huck Finn (Mark Twain’s character, Disney’s Tom & Huck and Huckleberry Finn, played by Brad Renfro and Elijah Wood, respectively).

Zack Morris
Saved by the Bell

So, in looking for this video, I ended up watching at least a half an hour’s worth of Saved by the Bell clips. Including Barbara Ann. Yeah, it’s still funny. But anyway, Zack Morris. How could we not love the guy who tried to sell Bayside High to the Japanese. Not to mention, he’s in a band. Friends Forever, right? So in trying to find a fun little quote about Zack and his penchant for mischief and scheming, I ended up reading his entire wikipedia page. Dude, this kid is money. I’d totes marry him.

Other teen sitcom loves: Eric Matthews & Sean Hunter from Boy Meets World, Uncle Jesse, and a host of TGIF favz

Now, let’s take a break and get animated. We can’t lie about it. Disney Movies, Anime, Comics. There are a shitton of places to find the impossible. Here we go,

Dimitri
Anastasia

Voiced by John Cusack, Dimitri was 1) named Dimitri (hai, good name) and 2) a swift talking con man. He also cleaned up quite nicely, in the most blatant copy of Jack Dawson ever**. He had that lovely floppy hair we all loved in 1998.

**There’s actually a video that exhibits this very idea of Anastasia being ridiculously similar to Titanic. Unfortunately, you have to sit through 2 minutes of the similarities between Cinderella and that Hilary Duff movie that had Cinderella in the title. … I would just fast forward.

Aladdin
Aladdin

He is the most noble street you will ever meet. His best friend is a monkey. He steals from the rich. And he has a giant blue genie. But hey, he doesn’t like to wear shirts – I mean, Agraba is broiling, son. I get it. He’d age better than SNL would have us believe.
Other Disney princes that should be mentioned: Eric (even though he’s not very smart), Charming (can’t hate on the original lover and fighter, can we ladies?)

Gambit
X-Men

Fangirls and fanboys alike geeked out over Remy LeBeau. When his name came up on Striker’s database of mutants in X2, we all freaked (for no reason it turned out, but still, we freaked). For some it was his completely BAMFness. For others, it was his saucy cajun accented dirty Anglais, kick ass kickassity, and his complete disregard of Wolverine’s authority. Which was awesome.

Oh, and the fact that he was in love with Rogue and it was totes adorbs. Didn’t hurt that he had that hair and that chin. He was dannnngerous, gurrl.

Honorable mentions: Dream, the emo king ❤

God this post is long. But, hey. Whatevz.

Let’s get back to the 3D, shall we?

Ah, the dramas. The king of imaginary boyfriends Drama-style is of course:

Dylan
90210 (the original)


Okay, first of all, this video is awesome. If your friend isn’t home and you left something in their house you do not break their window to get inside. Why-the-face, Brandon. Jeez.

Secondly, Dylan McKay is the original heart breaker. The bad boy, with that coifed hair. So what if Luke Perry looked 25 when he was supposed to be in high school. (James Van Der Beek looked 32, so it could have always been worse). And yes, he strung Brenda and Kelly along for years, being the phillandering asshole that he could be. But he was sensitive underneath. A real sensi.

Other first loves: Ephram (Everwood), Cute Dean / Jess (Gilmore Girls, I’m not linking to Jess because I hate him), Ben Covington (Felicity) … pretty much any show from the WB pre-2006, Dr. Robert Chase (House), Clark Kent (Lois & Clark), Don Draper (Mad Men – and I say “boyfriend” here, not husband, I’d be his lady on the side, no doubt) and I almost forgot! BUT SAM FREAKING SEABORN FROM THE WEST WING. He’s the master.

Then we got to the point when we were a little older and old movies started being cool. Because now we got their appeal. And so,

Ferris
Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

He is amazing. We all know it. I’m going to leave it at that. Also, the black troupe of dancers doing the Michael Jackson thriller dance in the middle of Twist & Shout is pretty much the shit.

Other mentions: Randall “Pink” Floyd from Dazed & Confused, AJ, Mark and Lucas from Empire Records, Ducky from Pretty in Pink (because God knows that Andrew McCarthy was a shit in that movie), “Jake Fucking Ryan” (16 Candles, for Alexander).

I’ve so far (other than Little Women) refrained from talking literature boyfriends. But there is at least one that I have to mention for fear of being shot.

Mr. Darcy
Pride & Prejudice

Whether he’s just on a page, played by Colin Firth (as in this clip), Matthew McFayden or that guy from Lost in Austen, Mr. Darcy is The One. We all of us wanted to be Lizzie Bennett and become misteress of Pemberly. He’s haughty and elitist, and rough and not particularly nice – but peel those layers and homeboy got game. Also, the official BBCWorld Youtube channel named the clip shown here “Pride & Prejudice: The Lake Scene (Colin Firth Strips Off)” which I found hilarious. I bet a 14 year old girl runs their youtube site.

Also see: Heathcliffe (Wuthering Heights), Levin (Anna Karenina), Michelangelo (The Agony & the Ecstacy), D’Artagnan (The Three Musketeers / Man in the Iron Mask), and a variety of other nerdy teenage boys in YA lit that we all totally love.

In recent years, there has been an even more abundant crop of imaginary boyfriends. I blame TEH INTERWEBZ. For example:

Jim Halpert
The Office

This whole day has turned into me trying to find an appropriate youtube clip, and then watching 30 minutes worth of clips just for fun. Bears, beets, Battlestar Galactica. Some some of you may hate Jim, because he can be smug and he’s the cute boy, and so on and so forth. But his pranks on Dwight and his complete infatuation with Pam make him a great, great imaginary boyfriend. Cuz girl, you know he’d treat you right. Damn.

Other current boyfriends: Marshall & Barney (from HIMYM), Chandler (Friends), JD or Turk (Scrubs, of course if you get one, you’re signing up for the other), Cappie (Greek, this is a case where I seriously need this character to be my boyfriend… not the actor, ever) J’s response to my “Sitcoms Boyfriends” query was: i’d live alone before a guy on seinfeld – so there’s that.

Brian Kinney
Queer As Folk

Many of you are unfamiliar with Brian Kinney, but rest assured he is the epitome of an imaginary boyfriend. A complete asshole, he treats everyone with disdain and is definitely misanthropic and cocky to a fault. However, he has a heart of gold and really will give up everything to make sure the people he loves are a-okay. Obviously, this is a win. Also, fair warning, there are boys kissing in the above clip. Oh right, he’s gay. That’s another thing he’s got going for and against him. Sigh. That’s a whole other level of inaccessibility. Whew.

Of course, that does open up a landfield of gay imaginary boyfriends. But that’s a whole other post, I think. One that I just haven’t got the energy for – my apologies, dear readers.

Well holy hell, I might be spent. I’m sure there were people left off, and avenues not trodden. But there’s always next time. And I know this shit was long, and I didn’t cut it – but it’s also a judgment call. Mine. Bazinga. If you did get this far in your reading –

Until next time, fronds. Check ya later.

EDIT: one of my lovely coworkers / readers was inspired to create this:

Keep ’em coming, kids!

22 Comments

Filed under Fun Times, Life, Things I Find Interesting

22 responses to “Imaginary Boyfriends

  1. rahawa

    “I mean, Agraba is broiling, son.” AND HOW.

  2. Christian

    Hmm, is it sad that we all have these imaginary loves dancing around in our heads as our ideal objects? In any case, working on my own list of imaginary girls, and besides Topenga from Boy Meets World, I’m having a tough time.

  3. E

    Pacey from Dawson’s Creek deserved an honorable mention. Srsly.

  4. sea_squared

    I am in love with this post. i admittedly watched all videos, but only felt in ❤ when i watched the first two. I am a sucker always for Devon and Christian. ugh. now i hate my life again.

  5. Bethany

    Dude, this was a really long post! I can’t believe i read it all, but you’d better believe that i did. And i liked it too!

    I especially liked the surprise ending — well, it felt like the ending — when you talked about Mr. Darcy. Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy is definitely my #1 imaginary boyfriend. (Sigh…)

    • Haha – I’m glad you read through the whole thing! And heck yeah – I had to put Darcy in there. He’s only the perfect husband for every straight woman in America. And a fair number of gay men as well, I’d wager lolz

  6. G Dolla

    o.m.g. Brian Kinney. Your list is fabulous, but everyone pales in comparison. And definitely just got a little teary-eyed watching that video, for real. Sigh. Brian Kinney is SO hot 🙂

  7. You pretty much hit the nail on the head here lady. Although, I’m not going to lie. No Leo??? Remember in Titanic when he was so brave and he had that greasy messy hair. ❤

    • intentsandpurposes

      I think the imaginary boyfriend thing is at its height in that magic 10-13 thing…because when I was in highschool I would have just fucked me some Leo, not wanted to take him to the 8th grade dance to show my friends how fucking awesomely awesome I was.

      • haha exactly – also, you’d have fucked you some Leo, not Jack Dawson. Because let’s be honest, Jack and Rose have to be together, and I would not want to be that homewrecker.

  8. intentsandpurposes

    shit! I totally misunderstood your tweet and answered Kevin Youkilis (who is just my *current* imaginary boyfriend…)

    aaaand yes. casper. holy shit. and JTT, ammiright? I know he just voiced an animated lion cub, but we were all gonna hit that in a hot second.

  9. heerrararararar

    So, so, so: no recent Darcy? I’m pretty sure I’m in love with him, too. Also, Louis Garrel isn’t there. You should also have a post of girl crushes, ie: Natalie Portman, Maryl Streep, Kate Blanchett and so many more. And no Chuck Bass? Well, actually, he would probably be a shitty boyfriend. Unless you’re Blaire. And Gael Garcia? I feel like this list is longer. I will probably sit and think of more during the time I should be memorizing more words. There are always more. OH and whatshisface from PS: I love you. Him too. Shoot. Shut up, I’m leaving.

  10. Johnny Virtue

    you left out john cusack in ‘say anything’. boy, klosterman’s going to be piiiiiissed.

  11. I LOVE this whole post. I can’t find a single thing to disagree with.

  12. Pingback: Adaptasaurus Rex! Raaaaar! | Hurling Words

Leave a Reply

